Post 91 – Long time no see!

5317789870_c31b0ee6f9_z

Well hello there, it has been a while since I last blogged and I would like to apologise for this. These last couple of months have had a lot of up and downs and I have spent the time overcoming these obstacles and enjoying the good times.

Here’s what has happened:

Redundancy

laptop

In October, I decided to take voluntary redundancy from my marketing position, the reason for this is that too many unrealistically time goals were set and management became unbearable to work with. On a regular basis I was being sworn at and it really knocked my confidence. When the opportunity to take redundancy popped up, I grabbed it with both hands and left. A month after I left, the company made redundant another five marketing employees who received little or no redundancy package.

I am now working part time and doing various freelance marketing jobs until my dream job pops up. I feel less stressed and I am actually earning more money now than I did when I was in permanent work. It’s great to have a bit of variety to the day and it is helping me think about what I want to do in the future.

New additions

Coco and Marley

So in December, Jimmy and I welcomed two three month old chinchilla into our homes – they are called Coco and Marley. They are incredibly fun to watch and have a lot of personality. Marley is very strong-willed whilst Coco is happy to sit on your knee in have his chin rubbed. They are both so adorable and I can’t wait to share more about them with you.

Pickle

Pickle

In January my beautiful little Pickle sadly passed away. I was heartbroken and so very sad when I found her – I just wish I could have been there with her during her last moments. She lived to the ripe old ages of two and a half and thankfully she passed away peacefully in her bed. I have decided not to have anymore hamsters because I feel I need to focus on the chinchillas now. Pickle’s home and all of her toys have now been donated to the RSPCA and I hope their little fur-babies will enjoy the toys as much as Pickle loved playing with them.

A new lick of paint

Last week I decided to spend the evening redecorating the kitchen. As our kitchen is in the middle of the house with no natural light, I decided to paint the kitchen cream to make the room look brighter and my goodness it has really worked.

Attempting to run

confidence

As part of my New Year’s Resolution, I have decided to improve my health and what better way to do that than getting involved in the York 10K?!?!?! I can’t run to save my life, but I am going to give it a good go to improve my health and of course to learn to run without running out of breath.

 

THERE’S BEEN A LOT MORE OTHER STUFF THAT HAS HAPPENED IN MY LIFE, BUT THE ABOVE IS JUST THE GIST. WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN UP TO OVER THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS? I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU.

Ellen x

ps Happy late New Year!

Click here to follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Facebook

Follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Twitter here

Subscribe to Ellen’s posts via Blog Lovin’ here

One thought on “Post 91 – Long time no see!

  1. Patricia JVR says:

    I was also off posting for a while… Welcome back! I have always thought chinchillas are absolutely adorable! Hubby says we can’t get one now cause of our two doggies (and he’s probably right!)

Leave a Reply

