Post 74 – Tuesday Highlights

IMG_20150906_155310

I was going to post yesterday, but then I got sidetracked with all the events that were happening that I forgot to write up the blog article to share with you all.

Yesterday marked a big turning point in ‘Ellen World’, as I finally passed my driving test! HURRAY! I have really severe dyslexia and my Driving Instructor has been very patient and understanding of me whilst I learnt to drive; it may have taken 2 and a half years, but I am thrilled that I finally got there!

Here is a picture of me after the test… sorry about my awful appearance – I had to get up at 4.30am to have a two hour driving lesson before my test at 8.40am.

driving test

The next step is to do my Pass Plus, many people have told me not to do it as it is a waste of money, but having never driven on a motorway before I would rather practice it with my Driving Instructor beforehand to make sure I know what I am doing when I am on my own, as they say “it’s always best to be safe than sorry.”

After the amazing news I came home to a big congratulatory cuddle from Jimmy… I think he is probably relived now, as that means I can now do my fair share of driving. Anyhow we started work on making the second bedroom actually looking like a room instead of a dumping ground. As you can see we still have a lot more to do, but it is starting to take form.

20150909_083239

Later in the afternoon I had a press interview to discuss York’s Little Festival of Live Music – a seven-day music event, which we’re putting on at this year’s York Food and Drink Festival. Everything is shaping up nicely and I can’t wait for the festival to start. We’re fundraising for a local charity called York Mind which provides mental health services for local people and really hope we can raise a huge amount for them. We’re doing this via bucket collections and through our JustGiving page. Here is our festival poster in its full glory!

YorkLittleMusicFestivalA4

In the evening Jimmy took me out for dinner to celebrate passing my driving test, we only went to Pizza Express in town, but it was a really nice meal and it was just lovely to get out and enjoy some good quality time with each other.

I have so much more stuff to do this week, which I am looking forward too including postering around town and of course getting my hair finally cut.

WHAT have been your highlights so far this week? tweet me at @missellenjane or share your stories below!

Ellen x

Click here to follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Facebook

Follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Twitter here

Subscribe to Ellen’s posts via Blog Lovin’ here

Leave a Reply

