Post 71 – Getting better with money

kstuttard_2014-05-30

Since moving into mine and Jimmy’s first home together, it has made me more aware of how more seriously I need to take money. I have always thought I was sensible with money and have been lucky to have a little bit left over at the end of the month to treat myself or to be boring and put it in my ISA account. By saving I hope one day that I can fulfil a big dream of mine: to own my own business

I thought it would be an awesome idea to share with you some money-saving tips.

Overpaying on the mortgage

Money hasn’t been easy these past couple of years due to temporary employment and being made redundant a handful of times. I am fortunate enough to now to be in a full time permanent job, where money worries are no longer at the top of my stress list. Since moving into our first home in July, Jimmy and I have put that bit extra each month to get the mortgage paid of quicker. I’m sure not everyone can do this, but we believe it is a big money saver especially when you work out how much you could save in interest rates. We got a good interest rate deal, but we have no idea what those rates are going to be like in a couple of years, so the more we put towards the mortgage the faster we can be mortgage-free!

Saving up for a rainy day

Last month I sat down and rigorously went through my bank statement to work out where I could make savings and was shocked that I was wasting nearly £70 on stuff that I didn’t need. By squashing the wastage I have been able to put that money into my ISA, unfortunately my ISA isn’t paying the best interest rate at the moment, but I suppose some interest is better than no interest.

Don’t buy things you don’t need

Starbucks hot chocolates every morning, a new nail varnish every week and maybe two trashy magazines a month, it all adds up doesn’t it? I have put a stop to the majority of my wastage spending by making my own hot chocolate, decorating my nails with the stash of varnishes I already have and reading the latest celebrity gossip on the internet. It’s all helped reduced my spending. If there is something I want I try my best to wait – attempt to find a voucher or failing that if I dream about it it’s a sure sign I need it.

Living simply

Jimmy converted me into not being too extravagant and how memorable free experiences can be. For example, enjoying afternoon walks, making the most of watching a live band at the local band stand or even pottering around the back garden can be a treat in itself. It doesn’t cost much or nothing at all, meaning you can enjoy a pleasant day without breaking the bank.

Have you changed your attitude to money recently? If so, share you tips below.

HAVE YOU CHANGED YOUR ATTITUDE TO MONEY RECENTLY? IF SO, SHARE YOUR TIPS BELOW.

Ellen x

Click here to follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Facebook

Follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Twitter here

Subscribe to Ellen’s posts via Blog Lovin’ here

Leave a Reply

