Post 39 – Five things you should do in the morning

20150524_152812

You ask anyone that knows me – I’m not a morning person. I hit the snooze button, roll out of bed, grumpy, don’t talk much and whinge when I have to leave the house. Once I am out, then I happily go along with my day-to-day activities. Over the last couple of days, I have been attempting to approach my days more positively by being more productive in the mornings. Here are five things that I would recommend that you try to do each morning in order to kick start your day.

Be grateful

7

It’s easier said than done, but if you have a hard day ahead then thinking about all of the things you are grateful for is a worthwhile task.

Personally I’m grateful for:

  • Having a roof over my head
  • Being an employee of a company who values me and what I can bring to the organisation
  • Having Pickle in my life (my hamster)
  • Food and Drink
  • A lovely boyfriend and a small group of loyal friends
  • and a music festival which is slowly but surely growing

By thinking about everything you appreciate in life, not only will it increase your happiness throughout the day, but also your self-esteem ready to take on the challenges that face you that day.

Set daily goals

writing

I’m not talking about trying to find a pirate’s treasure chest in your back garden or searching for the Holy Grail, small daily goals that are achievable can really help add a boost to your day. Try walking to the next bus stop, help someone in need, make it your mission to read ten pages of a book a day or get your veg ready for your tea before you head off to work. All these little goals can help enhance your productivity and will keep you focussed throughout the day. 

Listen to music

music festival

I love my music and I love nothing more than blasting out a bit of 90’s cheese (cough cough 5ive, Venga Boys, Steps cough cough) and doing crazy shape dancing as I get ready for work. Music is known to increase your mood and can potentially improve your motivation, performance as well as help you get a better night’s sleep. 

Stretch

confidence

Most mornings I wake up achy and stiff and have started incorporating small morning stretch routines into my daily routine to make me feel ready to take on the day. I am tempted to take up Yoga in my spare time; however I have struggled to find a class which can fit around my work schedule – one day I will find one.

Clean up after yourself

I’m not ashamed to admit it – I am procrastinator and I hate washing up my breakfast pots before heading out to work, but if I come back to having to wash up in the evening then this makes me feel miserable… I wish there was such a thing as a ‘Washing Up Fairy’. Over the last couple of weeks I have got up five minutes earlier (oh the pain!) and have used those extra five minutes to wash up my dishes and make my bed, as they say a tidy house a tidy mind!

What morning habits do you practise daily? Share your tips below!

Ellen x

Click here to follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Facebook

Follow Ellen Writes Stuff on Twitter here

Subscribe to Ellen’s posts via Blog Lovin’ here

6 thoughts on “Post 39 – Five things you should do in the morning

  1. Becster says:

    I’m the same as you when it comes to cleaning up! It’s my most hated chore! And I really have no excuse since we have a dishwasher!

    Cheesy 90s music is the best!!! But you do need to add some *cough*cough*B*Witched*cough* in there too!

Leave a Reply

