Post 21 – My week summed up in a blog post

Hi everyone,

Sorry for the lack of posts for the last couple of days, I have been mega tired and the entire week has been consumed by my daytime job, play rehearsals and of course the elections, which kicked up a big storm on social media on Friday… but we won’t go into that… so to kick-start my short weekend (as I was up in Northumberland working today), I thought I would share with you some of the happy moments in my life this week.

Mine and Jimmy’s house

Embedded image permalink

A couple of weeks ago we thought our house might have fallen through (thankfully it hadn’t), but then to make things worse we got our Surveyor report back last week to discover there were problems with the house, especially with the electrics. After getting an Electrician in, we discovered nothing is wrong at all.. so the Surveyor had been naughty!… tut tut Surveyor! So we are now back on track and are now in the process of exchanging contracts! Exciting times!

Line learning

After weeks of fretting over learning my lines for a play I am in, I finally know them off by heart! As a person with severe dyslexia, I am proud that I have got my head around the Shakespearian language and I am going to continue to do a couple more Shakespeare plays to become more confident with unfamiliar words.

If you want to come to see me act in a play, then you are more than welcome to do so (although I am not on stage much) you can click here to purchase your tickets online.

Le music festival

As many of you might be aware now I run my own music festival called York’s Little Festival of Live Music. I absolutely love planning and preparing for events as well as running around like a headless chicken and am looking forward to the next festival which will take place between 18th-27th September at the York Food and Drink Festival.

I am currently looking for 28 acts to be part of the line-up, if you know of anyone who might be interested then please let me know.

Voting

This week I felt it was high time that I voted in the election. Although it wasn’t very exciting, I found myself getting excited as this was a new experience for me.  The polling station was empty when I got there, so I was only there for two minutes. The scariest part for me was all of the party members who hung outside the Polling Station – they jumped on you the moment they saw you (well not literally jumped on me), but it was quite frightening. I told all of them that I wasn’t interested in talking with any of them and thankfully, they dispersed.

My first ever blogging giveaway

So this week I published my first ever blogging giveaway, which consists of a free copy of a new Penguin book release. I am really excited about the competition and hope many of you will enter – I am a firm believer in keeping your mind active by reading plenty and think my readers would love the giveaway – to enter the giveaway click here.

In a nutshell, I have had a lovely mad week and it doesn’t stop next week! Eek! Next week consists of interviews for the music festival, performing the play several times in front of an audience, work and of course keeping Pickle the hamster entertained!

What do you have planned for the rest of the week?

Ellen x

Leave a Reply

