Post nine – The perfect workout playlist

Apparently working out to carefully chosen music actually keeps you going for 20% longer, therefore burning more calories! According to Brunel University, this is because music creates energy and helps you keep pace.

So with the help of some of my new blogging friends, I asked them what their favourite workout songs are and why:

Displaying travelmassive.jpg

Samantha – Coco Butter Blog

www.cocobutterblog.co.uk

Samantha has been writing her fashion, beauty and lifestyle blog for over five years now and just can’t get enough of blogging – meeting new people, trying new things and writing it all down. When Samantha is not working on her blog, she works in e-commerce and is obsessed with digital marketing.

 

Samantha’s Perfect Workout Playlist:

  1. Taylor Swift – Shake it Off

Guaranteed to make you feel better no matter how bad your day has been.

  1. Calvin Harris – I’m Not Alone

I love a dancey tune and this was back when Calvin Harris was at his best, before his Hollywood makeover!

  1. Katy Perry – Teenage Dream

This was my first dance at my wedding and mine and my husband’s song – we even have matching Teenage Dream tattoos!

Iga – Igaberry

www.igaberry.com

Iga shares a variety of her inspirations, ideas, little moments and big adventures in her blog. She describes herself as the type of person who rushes from place to place, from work to shop, from shop to events with breaks for tea with friends… it’s a never ending story.

 

Iga’s Perfect Workout Playlist: 

  1. Joe Cocker – You Can Leave Your Hat On

In my opinion, this is perfect for pole dancing, especially for beginners. It’s not a fast song so you can work on perfecting your moves.

  1. Maroon 5 – Sugar

This is one of my favourite tunes and makes an ideal running song!

  1. Santana – Smooth

This song is perfect for stretching to, as it’s really slow yet not that slow to make you sleepy.

Jackie – Just Add Ginger

www.justadd-ginger.co.uk

Jackie is 28 years old and lives in the North West with her fiancé, and cat called Dave. She loves all things beauty, fashion and food and loves nothing more than sitting down to write. She likes to keep in shape – especially with her wedding coming up, and her dress already bought.

 

Jackie’s Perfect Workout Playlist:

  1. Taylor Swift – Shake It Off

I like it a lot because of the beat. I find it great to walk/cycle to. It also has a fab message behind it, reminding me to not care what people think.

  1. Olly Murs – Dance With Me Tonight

I love because I can always picture myself in a dance hall and it transports me from the gym in to a nightclub – sometimes staring at gym equipment can get really boring!

  1. Bruno Mars – Treasure

Treasure does a similar thing and it also has a powerful beat which is great to work out to. I always picture Bruno singing it to me as a serenade requested by my fiancé!

Displaying IMG_4238.JPG

Sarah – Knickers and Nail Polish

www.knickersandnailpolish.blogspot.co.uk

Sarah is a primary school teacher aiming to get back on the fitness journey and who is using her blog to chart her progress each month. She loves lots of different types of exercise and here are her favourite tracks.

 

Sarah’s Perfect Workout Playlist:

  1. Avicii – Wake Me Up

For me this is the perfect song to get warmed up to, either for stretches, jogging on a treadmill or out on my bike.

  1. Martin Garixx – Animals

Depending on my mood, I love listening to Animals to either use as a timer for HIIT or to keep me going during a run, it’s part of my 7 minutes of madness!

  1. Calvin Harris – Outside

Nothing drags me through the end of my workout quite like this song, something that has a good bpm for spinning or just dancing around before or after a workout!

What is your perfect workout playlist? I would love to know!

Ellen x

Leave a Reply

